Pretty Girls Need To Play By The Rules…

Photography by Dylaina Gollub Photography
Photography by Dylaina Gollub Photography

“With your figure, you can’t wear that for Halloween. If you weren’t so pretty, and you had a different body type, you could get away with it. But because you’re gorgeous, this outfit is probably too tight.”

So I understand that I work in a system that doesn’t allow me to do anything that may be seen as sexual by anyone (because showing that an adult has any sort of sexuality is inappropriate for teenagers. It’s best we just teach them abstinence and shame them for any sexual exploration or acknowledgement *insert eye roll here*), but the above quote was NOT what I was expecting to hear when I showed a co-worker that I might be a sailor pin up for Halloween. I’ve worn the top and bottoms in this picture separately to work before, and if anyone ever had an issue with it, I’ve certainly never heard about it.

I am so frustrated with hiding my body because I’m fit, with some curves, and have a nice face. As many of you know, I have a history of depression, bulimia, self-harm, and self-image issues. HOW DARE SOMEONE shame me for being fully clothed, finally confident in tighter clothes, and for being pretty. Since when does “gorgeous”, as was said above, equal inappropriate? Since when does “gorgeous” mean different rules? If I were overweight with a different face, and not a “typically attractive” person, I could wear what I want?

I don’t agree with it, but I could understand if this outfit was deemed inappropriate for my workplace due to the tightness of the clothing. But for it to be said that it is inappropriate because of my body is absolutely ridiculous. I can’t help the way I look. I love working out and, damn it, I’m proud of my figure.

Also, what message is this sending the teenagers that I work with? Due to circumstances outside of your control, you must follow different rules than your peers. How ridiculous. Yes, all of your body parts are covered, but you have a killer figure, and you really need to wear baggy clothes, so that people don’t find you attractive. But, yes, Sally, you’re a bit bigger and your eyes are a little too wide apart, so you go ahead and wear whatever you want. Seriously?

Maybe I should be a scuba diver for Halloween and wear a wet suit and flippers…Or is the wet suit too tight?

One thought on “Pretty Girls Need To Play By The Rules…

Leave a Reply

